Cricket live : New ICC Rules of LBW- Cricket Law 36

New ICC Rules of LEG BEFORE WICKET


lbw 000


LBW: The three stumps

Three stumps make one wicket - off stump, middle stump and leg stumpFrom the perspective of a bowler, when the right-handed batsman has to face, the off stump is on the left side of the middle stump.And the leg stump is on the right side of the middle stump. This is reversed for the left-handed batsman, where the off-stump would be for the bowler's right.


lbw 001



Not out LBW: Ball pitches outside leg stump

The most important factor when the umpire considers the LBW decision is whether the ball is outside the leg stump. If the ball is outside the leg stump outside the line, the batsman can not be given out - even if the ball has gone to reach the stump.


Not out LBW: No-ball

If the umpire says no-ball then the batsman can not be given out. The most common way to do this is that when the front of the bowler is in front of or in front of the heel of the popping crease (the next line of batting crease). There are 12 other situations when the umpire can say no-ball. You can find out more here:No ball law

no ball law 002


Not out LBW: Bat before pad

If the ball hits the bat before the ball pad then the batsman can not be given out.


lbw 004


Not out LBW: Outside line of off stump

A batsman has to get his pad out of the line of defense off-stump against LBW appeal. An umpire will close any appeal if he believes that the ball has hit the batsman's pad outside of the off-stump line, even if the ball has gone to reach the stump.
Till then ...



LBW 005

Out LBW: Offering no stroke

The batsman does not make any real effort to play the stroke. In that situation, the defense becomes unnecessary "the ball hit the pad out of the off stump".


LBW 006

LBW: Batsman is out

In this situation, the ball has played on the stump and hit the batsman on the pad in front of the wicket.The ball is not out of the line of the stump stump. And he did not hit the batsman outside the line of off stump. Therefore the umpire should be dismissed out of the batsman. But a lot of time it's never easy ...


LBW 007

LBW: Yet more considerations

The umpire should also consider four other variables:

  • The height of the ball bounce
  • Ball swing and spin
  • where the ball hit the pad
  • Is the batsman trying to play stroke
  • LBW: Height of the ball's bounce

Each pitch has its own idiosyncrasies, which should also be kept in mind by the umpire. Some are faster, harder and boom than others, which means that the ball will bounce more than the slow pitch.
In those circumstances, the umpire will have to decide whether the ball must have gone on the stump after killing the pad or not.

LBW 008



LBW: Swing and spin

Bowlers often swing the ball in the air or spin the ball while pitching on the wicket. If the ball attacks the batsman's pads, then the umpire should assess how much the ball has gone, he did not hit the pad.Will this be enough intrusion or spoon to kill the stump? Or did the ball go too much and completely missed the stumps?

However, if the ball hits the pad completely - without pitching - the umpire is not allowed to guess whether the ball will run after pitching or not.


LBW 0010

LBW: Where the ball strikes the pad

Under the batsmen's pitch, taking a big step with your front leg can cause doubts in the mind of the umpire. Moving forward to the pitch, the batsman increases the distance between the ball and the stump. If he is hit on the pad for long periods of time, then one more difficult task is to assess the umpire whether the ball has gone to kill the stump. But if the batter is struck by the batsman or the pad behind him, then there is a small distance to judge between the batsman and the stump so that the bowler's appeal is strengthened for the LBW decision.


LBW 0011

LBW: Is the batsman playing a stroke?

The umpire should understand whether the batsman is making a real effort to offer the stroke.Sometimes, for spinners, the batsman may deliberately hide his bat behind the pad, making it unclear whether he is playing the shot or not. This is a very defensive step designed to disappoint the bowlers. However, this decision can be difficult to make, so it comes at the discretion of the umpire.


LBW 0012


LBW: Making a decision

The umpire will consider an LBW decision if he believes that if the ball had hit the stump then its path was not obstructed by the batsman's pad or body. But before the decision of the umpire to decide, a few factors should be kept in mind.

LBW: Umpires under pressure
The LBW appeal is within two seconds, often less. During that time, many factors have to be evaluated before the umpire reaches its final result.

umpire 0013

OUT LBW

The striker is our LBW if all the circumstances set out in 36.1.1 to 3.1.5 apply
The bowler delivers a ball, not being a No ball, the ball, if it is not intercepted full-pitch, pitches in line between wicket or on the off side of the striker's wicket. The ball not having previously touched his/her bat, the striker intercepts all the balls. either full-pitched or after pitching, with any part of his/her person. the point of impact, even if above the level of the bails, either is between wicket and wicket or if the striker has made no genuine attempt to play the ball with the bat, is between wicket and wicket or outside the line of the off stump, but for the interception, the ball would have hit the wicket over the  level of the balls, is between either wicket and wicket.


Cricket live : New ICC Rules of LBW- Cricket Law 36 Cricket live : New ICC Rules of  LBW- Cricket Law 36 Reviewed by crick movie on September 13, 2018 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.